Buying a motorcycle

Re: Buying a motorcycle

Postby John Boucher » Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:02 am

Been looking at the new BMW G450X that has just been released,
Very interesting bike.... not as fast as a CRF450 I am lead to believe!

The other thing is that you have to put on the BMW approved aftermarket pipe otherwise the electronics don't work! The warranty is also controlled by if you rev it to much for too long (20 sec or something) This info gets stored in the Black Box!

Had a look at the bike. Check out the front sprocket running on the swing arm drive shaft! This allows chain tension to remain constant.... :idea:
skybound®

Postby skybound® » Thu Jan 01, 2009 10:21 am

Yeah, I like the tech that they have packed into the BMW - just why do they only cater for tall okes? Searched the net to see if anyone else has managed to lower the ride height and coming up empty handed so far.

Postby John Boucher » Thu Jan 01, 2009 4:37 pm

Slider

Postby Slider » Fri Jan 02, 2009 8:53 am

..........and you do still get nice BMW second hand. So maybe i need to look at them as well :shock:
ZU-ALW
Hanger 5-7
Microland

Postby Boet » Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:51 pm

Jip, and you can always use the engine in your trike if you bugger up the bike....... :wink:
gertcoetzee

Postby gertcoetzee » Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:26 pm

Just got a F650GS, thought since I am already doing one Rotax crank, I can just as well standardize my pain.

Postby John Boucher » Mon Jan 05, 2009 8:25 am

Thank goodness CAA does not have anything to do with motorbikes....

Your 650's crank will outlast the 582's as well as CAA! :lol:
Massimo

Postby Massimo » Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:48 pm

Ah forget touring with the bike and rather tour with the windlass. I bought myself a KTM Super Duke 990 last year and its an absolutely HOOLIGAN bike, but not for touring just for massive fun!! vhpy vhpy. Not to say its slow as it still hits 250kph but with no visor your neck is in alot of pain by then.
Trikenut

Postby Trikenut » Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:13 pm

I would HIGHLY reccomend Honda!
We have a bike from them on our farm (CTX200)! We have had it for 4-5yrs (I think) and it has never given us problems.
The exause that came with the bike broke after 2 yrs but apart from that NO PROBLEMO! Also, don't forget, it is a farm bike that gets a lot of rought treatment and has had many learners on it, such as my self (A couple of years ago) and all my cousins, even a few farm labourers! vhpy
Just my opinion! Butr as lots have been saying, a Bee Em F650GS is also a nice bike!
Ciao
Ross
Trikenut - Pilot in Training!!!
I love the smell of Avgas in the Morning!
"Beware 16 year old here"
skidmark

Postby skidmark » Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:00 pm

950 KTM Adventure
Dre'man55

Postby Dre'man55 » Thu Jan 08, 2009 9:25 am

Before you finalise which one make sure of the application you are going to use it for. If you are going to stick to roads then any of them will work. As soon as you start looking at doing more offroad some of them will be quite limited.

I am waiting for the new KTM 690 Adventure but my bias is for offroad. As a commuter you will find it hard to beat the Bm.
Must get airborne again
Andre'
Flying Below power lines on a DSX650
Too much power is just enough
Slider

Postby Slider » Wed Feb 18, 2009 8:55 am

So i eventually got "her" and decided to kit her out, and this is where we are at this stage.............

Any of you guys in for a long trip to ET, maybe to "LASKE NAKKE". A "Bike and Microlights race" :lol:
Picture 001.jpg
Picture 001.jpg (82.38 KiB) Viewed 1943 times
ZU-ALW
Hanger 5-7
Microland
kloot piloot

Postby kloot piloot » Wed Feb 18, 2009 9:04 am

WOW ! Congratulations and may you have lots of fun. Keep us posted on a ET trip. Might want to join in. (^^)
Roel Jansen
Never say: "I should have ..."
ZU-IAR powered by BMW 1200

Postby John Boucher » Wed Feb 18, 2009 9:18 am

Congrats Slider.....

May you have many many miles of pure joy! (^^)

Postby AndyG » Wed Feb 18, 2009 9:55 am

Looks lekker, enjoy (^^) (^^)