Rotax Crank Hour Extension.

Gadget

Postby Gadget » Tue Mar 18, 2008 3:03 pm

Well if Hirth does not come in with a good price then i will have to fly flight sim from now on. At least gert has already been everywhere so he can just close he's eyes and fly there. I still have to use flight sim to go and look what it looks like there. I averaged about 100 hours a year and i cannot afford to overhaul the rotax evey three years. This is bloody ridiculous. Does the idiot who came up with this idea actually fly a trike? I wish the moderators want to open this forum just for 5 minutes, i got a few delicious words I would like to throw at these peoples, or is that poepols.

Postby John Boucher » Tue Mar 18, 2008 3:15 pm

... and here enters the Stirrer!

Do I have to comment?

Bottom line, with 300 hours becoming 450 or 600 hours - we are just postponing the inevitable and that is crank replacement and a bill of R37 000 worst case scenario!

At no time has Rotax added any value to this fiasco - well not that we the okes that use them are aware. So true, we are but a mere speck of dust to their global business. They have been riding the wave with their offering to us as aviators.

Take a look at Hirth for instance - they have a wide variety to choose from and yes, a lot of their solutions are 2-stroke! HKS is there with a viable solution. Dieselfan and Zulu1 are there with viable solutions. I like the idea of being able to support local!

I get the idea that Rotax is more focussed in being competative with the 912/914 range iro Jabiru 2200 / 3300. Jab engines have come into serious demand with manufacturers such as CTSW, Esqual and the likes!

I await with keen anticipation for the outcome today!

Chunky Chunky Chunky - What can I say? :wink:
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Tue Mar 18, 2008 3:49 pm

BAD NAV wrote:Bottom line, with 300 hours becoming 450 or 600 hours - we are just postponing the inevitable and that is crank replacement and a bill of R37 000 worst case scenario!
This is the real issue. If misasa postpone the hours to 600, what have happened, nothing?

They would not have represented anyone, because nobody want this to happen.

It is as if nothing has happened, because there will be a money flow from us aviators to whom ever you deside to support.

Just becareful here. They postpone the hours to 600, and then just when the dust settles, they come and bite where it hurts, they will start to enforce the 5 year TBO rule, because nothing is being done with that!!

I heard that rotax is not manufacturing the 503 any more. This is clear that they want to move away from 2 stroke engines. Maybe this is why they do nothing!!
Last edited by Wargames on Tue Mar 18, 2008 3:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"

Postby Duck Rogers » Tue Mar 18, 2008 3:50 pm

Brilliant avatar John! =D* =D*

Postby Aerosan » Tue Mar 18, 2008 6:21 pm

My next plane will have a auto engine for sure. This will kill aviation in time to come. Ill bet on it.

Postby John Boucher » Tue Mar 18, 2008 6:33 pm

Thanks Duckie... man I could not resist changing it after Morph sent me a wooden spoon! :wink:

So methinks to myself :idea: Chunky thinks I bitch and moan too much... my mom used to moer me with a wooden spoon till I got big... and you use a spoon to stir - so, voila - GETAFIX stirring the pot...

So GETAFIX for Part 24 and ROTAX Cranks and the only way is to STIR!

Man I love this forum! :lol:

Postby John Boucher » Tue Mar 18, 2008 10:44 pm

WHAT HAS TRANSPIRED? PLEASE DO TELL!
cobra

Postby cobra » Wed Mar 19, 2008 7:08 am

See MISASA site for the latest update from the NTCA task team

Compliance with Manufacturers’ Maintenance Specifications and the Rotax 2-stroke maintenance crisis (including the “Rotax 582 300 hour crank replacement crisis”)

http://misasa.flyeaaforum.com/?p=464
Aerotrike Cobra
Andre

Postby Andre » Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:02 am

Can't open the PDF file to view the full report. Can anybody help :oops:
Working is for the birds
Airborn Edge 582
ZU-CND
Massimo

Postby Massimo » Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:03 am

Eish....................... :cry:
cobra

Postby cobra » Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:09 am

Andre wrote:Can't open the PDF file to view the full report. Can anybody help :oops:
Andre, the pdf docs will be uploaded shortly !
Aerotrike Cobra
Gadget

Postby Gadget » Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:11 am

So, like what does this mean inn plein english? screwed or slightly screwed?

Postby Morph » Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:23 am

Yip totally screwed

No resolution on Crank and maintenance issues :twisted:

No positive response to the owner maintenance :twisted:

Now we have to wait to the 27th of March, meantime 3 months of grounded aircraft and driving folks to flying illegally. Absolutely frikken brilliant :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Andre

Postby Andre » Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:30 am

OR :twisted: bite the bullet and spend the money to do the crank thing
I think we are farting against thunder here, might as well take the plunge and get it done :x sooner than later or take up bowling as a new sport.....
I think not...flying is in my blood
Working is for the birds
Airborn Edge 582
ZU-CND
grostek

Postby grostek » Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:36 am

Seems like goal posts have been moved, gotta dribble the ball a while longer and still no ref in sight to blow a whistle for high tackles.

No I fear that this will still be a problem for some time to come.

Was surprised that after all the "progress" that has been made there are still 100 or more homebuild/kitbuild aircraft waiting for registration because they are not sufficiently compliant wrt required documentation/inspections or whatever.

What is heartening however is that talks are taking place and issues are being esolved which is more than could be said 3 months ago.

Maybe things will be a lot clearer when the Flow Diagram for NTCA types get published.

Gunter Rostek