Trike touch and go at International airport?
Re: Trike touch and go at International airport?
The last pic is a small hill perfectly round with a crater inside. All natural they say.
I did not do the flight to Kili yet and waiting for perfect weatehr and visability. I dont want to go past and not be able to take pics of the mountain. Its not always visable and often covered in cloud.I will also have to take off real early so I can pass between the two Mountains (Meru and Kili) as the caravan drivers say its starting to get bumpy by 10 am and bumpy for a caravan then you will be all over the place in a trike.
I would like to do a trike expedition all the way up here one day with about 10 trikes or so. So lets start planing something.
I did not do the flight to Kili yet and waiting for perfect weatehr and visability. I dont want to go past and not be able to take pics of the mountain. Its not always visable and often covered in cloud.I will also have to take off real early so I can pass between the two Mountains (Meru and Kili) as the caravan drivers say its starting to get bumpy by 10 am and bumpy for a caravan then you will be all over the place in a trike.
I would like to do a trike expedition all the way up here one day with about 10 trikes or so. So lets start planing something.
Some nice pics of all the flying including the trip to Kili on Facebook here: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?id=70 ... aid=267107
Baie mooi
Jou facebook link werk nie

The most scary part of the trip over the forest between Meru and Kili 

- Blue Max
- Location: Elands River Bush and Quad Camp. Loskop Valey S25 01 55.70 E029 08 02.35

Daai bos is die laaste plek op aarde waar ek n engine out wil he.

Hoe lank gaan jy nog daar wees.?
Ek wil soontoe kom..Sommer gou.!!!

Jy kan gerus meer vleis om die foto,s sit deur ons meer te vertel van al jou ervarings daar.
Ek is seker daar is baie wie sal belangstel om meer te weet.!!
Praat met ons.!!
Paul.
I agree with Oom Paul. Also send a story in for the magazine.Blue Max wrote:![]()
![]()
Daai bos is die laaste plek op aarde waar ek n engine out wil he.![]()
![]()
Hoe lank gaan jy nog daar wees.?
Ek wil soontoe kom..Sommer gou.!!!![]()
Jy kan gerus meer vleis om die foto,s sit deur ons meer te vertel van al jou ervarings daar.
Ek is seker daar is baie wie sal belangstel om meer te weet.!!
Praat met ons.!!
Paul.
- Uncle Spud Murphy
- I hate bird strikes
Enjoyed reading this post I did, very much. Envy is not a word I would use but dear oh dear!! I wish I wish I wish
Seeing others enjoy what they do can be as good doing it. Owszaat for a bit of Irish
Go well now

Seeing others enjoy what they do can be as good doing it. Owszaat for a bit of Irish

Go well now

Uncle Spud Murphy
Telling it as it is saves explaining later. Alles van die beste
Hi Paul, ek kan jou een klein ongelooflike komiese verhaaltjie vertel wat vandag gebeur het. Please allow me to try and tell this true little story in the best English a boer can for all the souties on here:
See, today was a public holiday in Tanzania. So what do we do on public holidays? We fly a little bit more than on other days: lol: (I've done 80 hours so far in the last four weeks.) The owners of the Trike wanted me to fly in the back seat with them, seeing that I am an instructor and its public holiday (so no work and all play for them) I agreed to meet up at the airport at first light. When I arrived the clouds were on the ground far worse than I'm used to at Rhino Park on a Saturday morning.
Johnny was first to go for his "check ride" and pushed out the trike. At about 9 am the clouds lifted and it was clear to go. Now, for those who don't know, Arusha is a very busy airport with 7 to 10 aircraft movements that time of day so it can take some time for 5H-MVF to get clearance for take off from tower. Well, there was plenty time for a proper pre-flight.
I carefully watched Johnny as he was doing his pre-flight. Very professional, ten out of ten. Finally got our take off slot and first done some touch and goes. Every now and then we were put in a holding pattern to allow for other departures and landings. Than we climb out to the GF and did some serious stalls, steep turns and more landings for almost an hour.
Safely back on the ground, Damian the co-owner has arrived with coffee and cake eagerly awaiting his turn. By this time it was close to 11 and the air was getting choppy. To save time Damian started his pre-flight while Johnny was refuelling.
As he was looking into the wing at the wing tip I heard: “Oh No, you guys come look here!”
Don’t tell me we flew with something seriously missing or wrong in there, I thought. As I pulled the velcro apart to look inside the wing I made eye contact with another wide eyed terrified passenger. Inside - a big Tanzanian rat. He had that look on his face of I had enough of this but was not quit sure of how to get out. With a broom stick he was chased from wing tip to wing tip and finally took the plunge and jumped out never to be seen again. I mean stalls, steep turns and touch and goes? Never again that was a bit much for this oke.
I came back with this trike the weekend from up north next to the Kenya border and was just wondering if he could have hitch a 2 hour flight from there. This is the only time the wing tip was tied down close to the ground or can a rat climb up the profile tube or pylon. For the second flight we did a 12 out of 10 pre-flight to look for the rest of the family. I can just imagine the story he has to tell his friends about his flying experience.
See, today was a public holiday in Tanzania. So what do we do on public holidays? We fly a little bit more than on other days: lol: (I've done 80 hours so far in the last four weeks.) The owners of the Trike wanted me to fly in the back seat with them, seeing that I am an instructor and its public holiday (so no work and all play for them) I agreed to meet up at the airport at first light. When I arrived the clouds were on the ground far worse than I'm used to at Rhino Park on a Saturday morning.
Johnny was first to go for his "check ride" and pushed out the trike. At about 9 am the clouds lifted and it was clear to go. Now, for those who don't know, Arusha is a very busy airport with 7 to 10 aircraft movements that time of day so it can take some time for 5H-MVF to get clearance for take off from tower. Well, there was plenty time for a proper pre-flight.
I carefully watched Johnny as he was doing his pre-flight. Very professional, ten out of ten. Finally got our take off slot and first done some touch and goes. Every now and then we were put in a holding pattern to allow for other departures and landings. Than we climb out to the GF and did some serious stalls, steep turns and more landings for almost an hour.
Safely back on the ground, Damian the co-owner has arrived with coffee and cake eagerly awaiting his turn. By this time it was close to 11 and the air was getting choppy. To save time Damian started his pre-flight while Johnny was refuelling.
As he was looking into the wing at the wing tip I heard: “Oh No, you guys come look here!”
Don’t tell me we flew with something seriously missing or wrong in there, I thought. As I pulled the velcro apart to look inside the wing I made eye contact with another wide eyed terrified passenger. Inside - a big Tanzanian rat. He had that look on his face of I had enough of this but was not quit sure of how to get out. With a broom stick he was chased from wing tip to wing tip and finally took the plunge and jumped out never to be seen again. I mean stalls, steep turns and touch and goes? Never again that was a bit much for this oke.
I came back with this trike the weekend from up north next to the Kenya border and was just wondering if he could have hitch a 2 hour flight from there. This is the only time the wing tip was tied down close to the ground or can a rat climb up the profile tube or pylon. For the second flight we did a 12 out of 10 pre-flight to look for the rest of the family. I can just imagine the story he has to tell his friends about his flying experience.

Trust me they can climb up the pylon. Years ago we had rice stored in our hanger and you can imagine the rats it attracted. Part of of the preflight was to check for rats inside the wing. After one flight I shutdown, got off the trike and the next moment a rat scurried down the pylon and into the long grass. He also had a story to tell.

This morning was the clearest day in a long time. Very good flying but a little bumpy. 

- alanmack
- Top Gun
May your trip continue to be absolutely awesome - just watch out for the edge of the earth - it was made in Africa and will take you to new heights - when you see the edge - go for it!
Fly safe
Fly safe
NEMO
I have now joined the ranks of wannabe pilots!
Yes Alan, I did flew over the edge of the world today. 

- Pre flight checks done
I was up in Arusha for business laste week and met up with Marius. He introduced me to the owners of the trike and they were gracious enough to allow me a flight in their Aquilla. So on Saterday afternoon at 17:00 I took off with Marius in the back seat (because I don't have a Tanzanian licence- yet!). It was an awasome, if somewhat bumpy, flight to a crater a few miles south of Arusha airport. There was lots of other traffic, mostly Caravans, coming in to land and one has to be very alert and keep listening for the ATC's instructions. Luckily Marius knows the area and the drill and he kept us out of dangers way. Thanks to Marius, Johnny and Damien for an awsome flight. Like Arnold said....."I'll be back!"
I'll try and post some pics later.
My psycho-therapist is called ZU - CPI !!!