Caltex TT Super Two Stroke

Asterix

Re: Caltex TT Super Two Stroke

Postby Asterix » Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:09 pm

"Hell Castrol, F@CK aviation, it is a 2 stroke engine !" - So, it is Castrol.. BUT.."Husquavarna HP is a super duper chainsaw oil for my aircooled Rotax !"

Note that the "Castrol" was TT Super Two Stroke. Note that the Husquarvarna is a "chainsaw oil!"

Bottom line - use chainsaw oil! Be that Caltex or Husquarvarna. I am not an engine specialist by no means. However, as far as I understand, Chainsaw oil is designed for motors with high revs and a high operating temperature. And no synthetics. I have been drilled since my early hours of instruction not to use anything BUT Castrol Super Chainsaw. If you read some old threads, back when the big 300 / 600 hour Rotax overhaul debate was at its hight, you will find a document by our own Leprechaun, indicating the service history on engines that have been running for over a thousand hours. These machines are still flying strongly, and I have not heard of any of these involved in an engine out! They run exclusively on Castrol Super Chainsaw! (of course, they are also maintained according to Rotax specs.) Bottom line, oil have never been a problem in these engines.

I will stick to what works for me - Castrol Super Chainsaw. Once I have my first engine - out, If I survive, I will analyze what went wrong. I have a feeling it will most probably be something else than the oil I use.

NS: - if you fly once in six months for 30 minutes, as far as I understand, ANY oil will glue up your motor... Just my 2 cents. :roll:
Asterix

Postby Asterix » Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:45 pm

Oh, and just a last word - is there any other engine available on the market today - ready to fit - that will give you the same power to weight ratio on a trike - than a Rotax 582?, for R53 000? No modifications and CAA applications needed?

People calling it a RATTEX - what did you train on? My money says - a RATTEX - and you actually survived!

I am not a Rotax or Caltex oil agent - so, no prejudice here. All I'm thinking - the majority of trikes today, and a good couple of LSA's, use R 582's. Good track record. Has it become a mere fashion to shoot down the engines that have had us flying for three decades with less accidents than Cessna's, Pipers and other assorted REGTE aeries?

Or is it a matter of shooting down the product rather than admitting your own kak maintenance? Once again - just my own feelings.. :oops:
zucac

Postby zucac » Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:45 am

I am not shooting down Rotax,I have 4 and stand buy them.
but if the clever people at Rotex say "use Shell" may be it is for my safty.
and if Caltex say f#$^k you may be I use Shell.

But you guys do what you like I am just sharing my school fees (!!)
lamercyfly

Postby lamercyfly » Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:52 am

this oke Asterisk, he clearly does not know me :lol: :lol:

well said Bret, you juz sharing your school fees, and I too don't give a rats ass what oil you guys use.

Just using this wonderful forum to share what has happened to us, at 3 different airfields, all within a very short space of time.

By the way, asterisk, we don't get 15 to 20 000 hours of experience by flying 30 minutes every 6 months :lol: :lol:

Oh, Asterisk, Rattex is a term we use to lovingly describe our trusty ol Rotax engines. Just a nickname. Know what I mean :?:

Cheers guys, I'm finished with this topic.
David Daniel
Email: lamercyfly@gmail.com
Mobile: +27 (0)746495744

Postby Boet » Fri Jul 30, 2010 10:25 am

Bla bla bla bla bla............ ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##
Hak

Postby Hak » Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:40 pm

Hi Dave
what do you use now :wink: :wink:
"THe suspense is terrible. I hope it will last."

Postby Boet » Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:28 pm

What the book says. Stop buggering around. :wink:
zucac

Postby zucac » Mon Aug 02, 2010 8:12 am

Shell Advance Ultra 2T
Bozz
Pre flight checks done

Postby Bozz » Tue Aug 03, 2010 5:20 pm

503 - Castrol Super chainsaw works for me.