THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Postby mulderpm » Mon May 06, 2013 8:32 am

What a weekend. (^^)

Firstly, an enormous thank you to Steve Bosch and his family and staff for everything. Especially putting up with Dionne and myself for an extended period.

After flying to the crater on Sunday morning and battling with the wind on the way back we decided to trust windguru and stay. In the end, we only left on Sunday afternoon 4 o'clock. Smooothe flight back with a slight tail wind and no wind on the ground at FABA. Good decision. (!!)

To Sir Francis and Lady Sharon, Fanie, Nick and Jana, Pieter and Rozanne, Anthony and Jaco....and all the the pop ins, it was great chatting and flying with all you guys.

En Marlene, geniet jou trippie Duitsland toe.

We will be back. (^^)
Resize of IMG_0316.JPG
Resize of IMG_0329.JPG
Resize of IMG_0332.JPG
Resize of IMG_0336.JPG
Resize of IMG_0338.JPG
Resize of IMG_0341.JPG
Resize of IMG_0348.JPG
Resize of IMG_0350.JPG
Resize of IMG_0355.JPG
Resize of IMG_0358.JPG
Resize of IMG_0361.JPG
Resize of IMG_0368.JPG
Rotation of Resize of IMG_0340.JPG
Frank Smallwood
Ready for the first flight

Postby Frank Smallwood » Mon May 06, 2013 9:42 am

First of all a huge thankyou to Steve Boschand his neighbors who were fantastic I making us welcome. They couldnt do enough for us. Their hospitality is almost embarasing to receive. You guys rock. Paul I think you and Dionne made right choice to return later as the climb out of Steve's place was quite rough and pretty cold when we got high enough to get to the smoother air. Landing at Microland was interesting but all got down OK with quite a strong easterly. By lunchtime the wind had dropped to almost nothing and I imagine would have been a lot easier. Still these craft we fly are pretty robust.
Thanks to all who attended. What a good bunch of people.

Cheers Frank

Postby Bundy » Mon May 06, 2013 11:46 am

mulderpm wrote:What a weekend. (^^)
Smooothe flight back with a slight tail wind and no wind on the ground at FABA. Good decision. (!!)
Ja nee ou maat....you made the better choice! Well done :)

Hell, we must let you be right sometimes?? :lol:

Must be said it's nice to have a few landing options at FABA! Tricky landings we had for sure. All safe and I concur with Frank...these samoosa's are pretty forgiving....that's why we love them. xxx
Bateleur

Postby Bateleur » Mon May 06, 2013 11:56 am

Seems like you had a great time! I am so sorry I missed out. The times I have been to Steve, it has been exceptional.
Stef Oosthuizen
Step it up a notch!!
ZU DBP

Postby Bundy » Mon May 06, 2013 1:44 pm

Thanks for the pictures guys! (I've allready stolen them! ^ )

To the guys who were on the "Boschcamp"...I forgot to include the Lunch that Paul and Dionne provided for us in the food costs when we left!

Please will you all give Paul R30 per person for the lunch when you see him at FABA (or give to Mervyn/myself to give to him)

Thanks everyone...sorry for the blunder on my part. :oops:

Shot. :)

Postby mulderpm » Tue May 07, 2013 7:44 am

Bundy wrote:Ja nee ou maat....you made the better choice! Well done :)

Hell, we must let you be right sometimes?? :lol:

Must be said it's nice to have a few landing options at FABA! Tricky landings we had for sure. All safe and I concur with Frank...these samoosa's are pretty forgiving....that's why we love them. xxx
Not me, just put a bit more trust in WX forcasts and windguru. On Saturday we were eroneously looking at FABA forcasts. On Sunday morning I changed the location to Bela Bela and the prediction was for calm conditions for both Saturday pm (remember) and the whole day Sunday. I also phoned Aviation MET (0822339600) and, again, there prediction was like windguru and accurate. Both forcasted strong winds for FABA (17 knts) for Sunday morning dying down in the afternoon to 5 Knts and very little wind for Bela Bela for the whole day.

Just plan, but be flexible. ##

We had a great time with all the pilots and their families and with Steve and his lovely family on Sunday. (^^) (^^)

Cant wait for the next one. (^^)

Oh, and Steve your two GPS's are sorted with the aviation maps. I will bring them to FABA. We can swop for my petrol can vhpy (thanks for bringing that back). (^^)

Postby mulderpm » Thu May 09, 2013 10:51 am

Had a lekker flight again this morning. Smooothe as ice (cold). The Delmas municipality is filling the cracks in the runway... at 7 o'clock this morning nogal...can you believe it. (**) Had to abort my landing with these dudes with molten tar buckets all over the runway. Thought they would have put a white cross at each end of the runway. ## Maybe they weren't expecting traffic so early in the morning. No problem, did a runway inspection and waved at all of them. :mrgreen:

Same problem this morning with my radio check...no one on frequency, not even on 125.4..could hear ATIS, but so what..they can't hear me. There must be a simple solution. (**)

Postby Bundy » Fri May 10, 2013 4:55 am

mulderpm wrote:There must be a simple solution. (**)
Hand held....talk to Dionne or yourself. ^

I'ts a pity the weather has turned nasty for FASK guys. Please be careful and make the right choices before you go! You really dont wanna be "that guy" who flips his aerie at an airshow! Weather looks POO POO to me....but you are the PIC chaps....as always the choice remains yours. ^

I will not see you guys this weekend unfortunately but I will be at the braai next Sat and hopefully the weather will allow a nice morning sortie somewhere? I've never been to Heidelberg or Klip so am allready thinking I may route in that direction! :)

Be safe and be smart!
Catch you on the flip side. (!!)

Postby Bundy » Fri May 10, 2013 5:44 am

Was scanning through the pic's Paul sent me from his Moz trip two years ago and found this one... :)

The customary "Mulder Stance"....nice Pajamas boet! :lol:....did you forget to pack board shorts?? ##
ANH.JPG
If I could "caption" it it would be...

"But WHY is it doing that??" :lol:

One of the legends this trike! (!!)
Loco

Postby Loco » Fri May 10, 2013 5:59 am

Bwahaha brilliant! :lol: Guys when are we doing a Moz trip?!
Anthony Hugo

Crosswinds

Postby mulderpm » Fri May 10, 2013 6:50 am

Anytime. Those were my Moz flying pant. Locally bought, cool (like in temperature ) and keeps the sun off your legs...no sun burn when flying. Haven't warn them since...haha

Postby Bundy » Mon May 13, 2013 4:56 am

Hey all...dont forget the Monthly Braai on Sat! (^^)
NickSwardt

Postby NickSwardt » Mon May 13, 2013 8:04 am

Cool!!!
I'll bring the charcoal (^^) (^^)

Postby Bundy » Tue May 14, 2013 9:40 am

Episode 4 Confirmed...please Rsvp on the thread! 8)

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=21100

Postby mulderpm » Tue May 14, 2013 4:31 pm

Had an awesome flight this morning. Thanks Faiz for being my wingman (^^) . Just one more touch and go...in those conditions...automatic puff . 290 hrs on HOBBS. Have to start saving! ##