Help needed: Flight CPT - JHB

flywild
Ready for the first flight

Help needed: Flight CPT - JHB

Postby flywild » Fri Jun 13, 2008 9:41 am

Hi all.

I purchased the Kolb markIII advertised on this site. I intend to fly it back to Standerton.

This is where your help is needed. Are there any people who did such a trip in a microlight? I would like to gain info on availability of fuel r people along the route who will kindly bring me fuel to the airport.

Would also like to know the best route to follow.

Thanx a lot.
Don Barrie
Wargames

Re: Help needed: Flight CPT - JHB

Postby Wargames » Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:57 am

What is your safe range per tank??
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"
flywild

Postby flywild » Fri Jun 13, 2008 4:25 pm

Safe range with 45 minutes spare will be 300 miles or 500km.

Dont think my bladder has that sort of range. vhpy
Trikenut

Postby Trikenut » Fri Jun 13, 2008 4:31 pm

Use a long pipe and a bottle! :lol: :lol:
Trikenut - Pilot in Training!!!
I love the smell of Avgas in the Morning!
"Beware 16 year old here"

Postby Morph » Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:28 pm

Comeon guys, let's plan this one

Departure 07h00 Fisantekraal
Arrive ??h?? Standerton

781 Miles.

Direct routing Ceres, Sutherland, Fraserburg, De Aar, Petrusville, New Tembe(Bloemfontein), Winburg, Standerton

Cruising 60 mph, = 13 hours, minimum 2 days, probably 3.

Let's see what Microlighters can come up with. The man needs support

Postby Morph » Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:36 pm

Here is another maybe better option

Fisantekraal, Tanqua(Fuel can be arranged) , Williston, Carnavon(Close to town, land and call a taxi to get fuel), Kimberley(John Weston - Bad Nav's spot), Welkom/Kroonstad, Standerton, 806 miles but a better option. I know all the way to Carnavon, easy flying
emil

Postby emil » Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:14 pm

i have done this trip twice in the STING
so my first trip was with agent..he might have more info as he did the nav i was just flying..

but the first time stops was..Baufort Tempe Rhino

the second time i had to diverts from Baufort to De Aar to Kimberly to Rhino..
nice flight...the first part to clear the mauntain from Fiesantakraal can be a bit scary in a smaal plane as we cleared it just under 10 000 feet...

but other than that a ncie trip..watch the karoo for turbulance...ask the agent ALL about that one to...

i am in SA for the next 3 weeks...if you need another pilot..i will gladly do the trip with you

Postby The Agent » Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:35 pm

OK here goes.
Fisatekraal to FABWest= 216 nm
FABW to Tempe 266 nm
Tempe to Standerton = 208 nm

I dont know the speeds but can help if I have them.
Get yourself a pair of big brass balls and two cups of concetration and you are made.
flywild

Postby flywild » Fri Jun 13, 2008 9:35 pm

Hi Guys

Thanx a lot. This helps a lot. Especially from people who has done it before.

According to the book, this plane hase a cruise speed of 75mph with a Rotax 582. I hope to get a few more out of it with 15 more horses, but I think it will be safe to estimate at 75mph.

My biggest concern is the mountains and weather, thus I would rather fly longer, but safer.

I Really appreciate all the help I get.

Don

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:29 pm

Done the trip 3 times. 1ce in bush baby, 1ce Albat & 1ce in 182.

182 - FACT - FATP (Pee stop) - FAGM 4h40min
Albat - Stellies - Rand 4h43min (has loo) :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
But that does not help you much. Bush Baby was 3 days and just short of 13hrs fly time...

Flew down to CT airlines. Took 7.5hrs to get there. Was during Nationwide chaos... So plan changed even before we started.
Did convex at 6.30 am. Packed and left at 7.30 am. Turned back 15mins in and then sat on ground to wait for mist to lift. Left again around 11.
Went from Saldanha-Vredenburg (FASD) low level along the coast & Sldanha Sishen railway line all way Vredendal, then over the beeeeeg :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: mountains to stop over with boet at loerries. 2hrs 35 mins. Refuel. Just shy of 300km. Slept over with Boet after spending the day at BB factory.. Plan was to go all way to John Wesson, but due to late start we had to be flexible...

Day 2 on to John Wesson/ Had to stop at Prieska for refuel due to huge headwind and beeeg WX buildup over FAKM. Prieska Airport is outside town, but I got a lift into town and a 25l refuel drum from the friendly Midas guy... (even offered overnight accom at his house if WX got too KAK) Just under 3hrs and 350ish km. Is restricted area at Copperton you must route around. Lost of Nothing and even more F. All all along the route. Take Water. Hot as hell. If you have a problem in could be a while before they find you....

From Prieska we went to Vryburg (Idea was to go to John Wesson (bad nav), then FAVV, but WX got beeeg quickly so change of plan and went to Vryburg, simply because I have hangar, transport and accommodation there. Had to make a pit stop at Lime Ackers (Finch Mine). Split fuel on my clothes gut while refuelling in 30kt wind at Prieska so stopped for "shower" under water bottle at Lime Ackers. Fuel was burning the crap out of me gut, crotch and back and seatbelt was chaffing it all just for fun. Followed a learjet in and were met by fire engine and welcom committee. Then route direct Vryburg. Landed at Vryburg tired and GATSORE... around 3pm in 40 degree heat. Flying time was around 3hrs and 350ish km.

Next day went sparrows fart to BB factory East of Baps FAVB - KD - GAV - RA - FASI - Baps - BB Factory. Just over 3 hrs and landed just before 9am. 12.2 hrs flying in 3 days.

Couple tips.
Take a pilow or sponge for additional padding. You will be tied to the aerie for 12-15hrs and the bars under the seat are HARD....
Travel light.
Take spare radio you know how to work,
1 GPS is enough
warm clothes (especially if you going in winter)
Water
Maps (Sounds logical, but I had to bum a Vryburg map after change of plan even though I know the area very well.)
Budget on well below what owners manual says in terms of speeds. It all up hill and light aeries do not have the penetration of their bigger brethren. I got avg of 72mph on the whole route with a 912s (100hp)... Day 2 was bad as the headwind was around 20-30kts... Was told I could work on 90mph+ "easy" :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
Don't be afraid to turn back. We turned back at start twice due to WX not looking great and then again at Loerries when over filling the oil resulted in some black smoke.
Climb high over the mountains. Not only smoothers, but if you have a problem the extra height gives you huge glide range especially if you use wind... (Watch for mt wave if you go low over mts) If you used to vlaktes like me the mountains are a but scary, so the higher you go the smaller they get and thus are less scary... :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:
Monitor fuel burn and speed. I am spoilt to have all the toys in RV, but visual sight gauges are scary if you not used to them. They seem to get empty quickly and bubbles in the see thru fuel lines are :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: swallow the seat cushin type stuff

My take on the flight.....
1250kms, so working on said 500km leg limit I would split it into 3 legs.(obviously depending on fuel availability)
FAFK - FAVW (Plenty looong runways for X winds with tailwheel) 489km, so given 70mph roughly 4h20 mins.
Get moer early start so if you feel up to it you can press on to FATP (sleep over if not up to long haul)
FAVW - FATP (Fuel, accom etc not a problem) 390km say 3h30mins.
Sleep over here...
FATP - Home 371km so say 3h20mins... Again get mossie poep start. Earlier you go the more options you have..

TAKE PICS and keep us updated...
cjkrit

Postby cjkrit » Sat Jun 14, 2008 3:34 pm

If for whatever reason you fly more east. I am here in Burgersdorp. [Aliwal North/ Gariepdam area] Cell 0825760214. Just call if I can be of any help.

Enjoy your planning and the trip.

Christo Kritzinger
flywild

Postby flywild » Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:30 pm

Hi guys

Thanx a lot for all the help. It is so good to hear from all of you. It gives me a better idee for what I should plan for.

George, thanx for all the tips. I was so involved with the flying part, I never thouhgt of all the other things.

Just shows, this is a family of true friends.

Don

Postby John Boucher » Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:31 am

Hi Don

Always welcome to stop over at John Weston - Kimberley. Will help with fuel. Good idea to fly to Boet and then this way. If you are doing closer to September, you can check the blommetjies... and Boet's dorpie is filled with Windmills. Make it a sightseeing trip.

Do coastwise to Vredendal....
Then up to Boet at Loeriesfontein....
A quick stop at Brandvlei.... the garage is not to far from the airfield - organise with the owner - Die Windpomp makes lekker burgers!
Off to Prieska - friendly bunch there - Lamercy Fly & RV4Ker have done the stint through there as George has indicated.
A leg to John Weston - if you need to sleep over, no problem!
Why not pop over to Vryburg from John Weston - Andy will gladly help (RV4Ker can help you with that!)
From there... Klerksdorp & Parys - Standerton!

Seems a detour but you would have met Northern Cape hospitality....

Regards - BAD NAV
flywild

Postby flywild » Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:23 pm

Hi John

Thanx for the very interesting route you suggest. Will definatly consider it.

Will let you know, but I think we can make it a date to see you at John Weston.

Don

Postby John Boucher » Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:06 pm

That's fine Don... Let us know what your plans are and we plan from there onwards!

JB