Via the grapevine

cobra

Re: Via the grapevine

Postby cobra » Wed May 21, 2008 9:28 am

Leprachaun wrote:.... the ATC nearly had a fit according to the vine ...
I had a chat with the ATC at Rand (Gail) and Grand Central (Karin) whom were the controllers at the time. In short...

Karin apologised for holding the trikes for that long, but as you may know, rwy 06L/24R (grass) is no more a runway but a taxiway and she was under instruction to not use it for take-off. After our request to use the "taxiway" to prevent further traffic congestion and with the microlights taking-off in formation, this sorted out her problem :wink: which she was grateful for.

For the blik that had to do a orbit, well I will not quote her :lol:

For the rest of the vine story ..... she knows nothing about and thought we were well "behaved" :) suppose the "the pest" maybe in the clear now "from the authority to be " (-)
Last edited by cobra on Wed May 21, 2008 12:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Aerotrike Cobra
3wheels

Postby 3wheels » Wed May 21, 2008 10:21 am

Hi Sias,

I met you at the Heidelburg fly in and was one of the three trikes in front of you at the holding point. I have followed this thread along with the thread on avcom and have up to now reserved any comment.
by cobra on Wed May 21, 2008 9:28 am

Leprachaun wrote:
.... the ATC nearly had a fit according to the vine ...

I had a chat with the ATC at Rand (Gail) and Grand Central (Karin) whom were the controllers at the time. In short...

Karin apologised for holding the trikes for that long, but as you may know, rwy 06L/24R (grass) is no more a runway but a taxiway and she was under instruction to not use it for take-off. After our request to use the "taxiway" to prevent further traffic congestion and with the microlights taking-off in formation, this sorted out her problem which she was grateful for.

For the blik that had to do a orbit, well I will not quote her

For the rest of the vine story ..... she know nothing about and thought we were well "behaved"
What was absolutely no problem at all has been made into a fiasco. Its amaizing how quick people can be at jumping onto the band wagon where there is something bad to say !!

The reality of the whole issue is that the microlighters that were at the holding point and those that took off in formation and turned out to the right should be thanked and applauded for showing good airmanship. There was never any movement of trikes without the clearence from the tower and we (trikers) cleared the area as quickly as possible to alleviate the already building traffic congestion. ( some of us taking off in the others prop wash )

A big thank you to the ladies in the tower =D* =D* A job well done, you girls are FANTASTIC xxx

To the fellow trikers that were there =D* =D* for good airmanship, (^^) buggers.

To the :>> , well ...........
ZU-"Charlie"YV
cobra

Postby cobra » Wed May 21, 2008 2:02 pm

Hi 3wheels, thanks goodness it is over (i think) I`m trying to get some work in as well, hope to see you at Microland for the brekkie on Saturday. Cheers
Last edited by cobra on Wed May 21, 2008 6:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Aerotrike Cobra
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Wed May 21, 2008 5:29 pm

Eish: Post number 300 vhpy vhpy

Just for the record: I was not there and has only read this and followed this intensely, and if I can, here is my 50c of thoughts:

I was "stationed" at a bigger airfield before moving down to morning star, and at that airfield, it was a great mix between "big bliks" and "trikes". It was never a case of the "bliks" accepting us trikes as part of the flying community. They were always irretated with us, and they always let us know that their toys is much more expensive than ours. They were always irretated when we were sharing a curcuit for t&g and I could never understand this. If my curcuit is 5 mins long(not discussing distances) and the blik is 5 mins. Who is pestering who?? (This is the question that needs to be asked about this weekend. You all know the answer.) I'm not bothered by the fact that I fly slow, so why should the bliks be irretated by that??

To a whole new topic, why is there a lot more bitching on avcom about "poor airmanship" and not here on microlighters?? Is it that we do not mind if an other guy makes a mistake? I don't think so. My gut feel is that we as MPL pilots, are much better behaved than most PPL guys (Please note, I am not saying all), for the sole reason that we have greater respect for other aircraft and thus do not get irretated by thinking the air belongs to us. And for that we do our radio work, but then also we are more aware of what is going on around us, because we know we fly VFR. The problem with radio work is that many people over do it, and do not rely enough on looking around to know who is where.

Well, We should not let them get to us. To conclude, I read something that Gert Coetzee wrote: "I do not measure my flying pleasure in knots, but in hours!" Lovely isn't it.

Happy flying.

The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"

Postby John Boucher » Wed May 21, 2008 6:09 pm

Wargames... luckily we all can relax as we know from who the colourful complaint came from!

You make one "mistake" in your post however and that is to categorise us into MPL & PPL & CPL & etc. Those that are fault are in the minority and it becomes a case of the tail wagging the dog as this specific poster has done. On the thread regarding Trevor Emmanuel's fateful crash in the Lancair I made the comment regarding the general negative postings on AVCOM - in short, pray never let me crash and burn because the last thing that would go through my mind is how much shit the self appointed accident investigators would conjure up in the minimal space of time!

We are pilots , aviators , airmen / airwomen , privileged persons with mechanical wings of cloth & metal & glass. Think back to the advent of flight - doped paper & cloth covered the flimsy machines of that time - not fancy aluminium or composites or fire resistant tiles! The guys who fly trikes are actually closer to the real advent of aviation than any one with their extremely modern flying machine. Somewhere the cryptic minority have forgotten why we fly or get our arses into the sky - no, not to be windgat (even though it is quite punny!) but for the passion of flight! There should be absolutely NO differentiating between licence types - the only thing being what you may fly!

Chunky tried to nail me on the Heidelberg thread by implying that I consider myself as a TOP GUN, I might have to reconsider "The Stirrer" image..... :roll:
Has anyone wondered why after his "extremely positive" approach to the chaps churning the Part 24 thing - he has never posted here again. Why not post his complaint here - you know why, he would have got nailed again! :lol:

No one wants to tell me who made the comment : THEY SHOULD BAN THESE BLOODY MICROLIGHTS FROM SHOWS / FLY-IN's
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Wed May 21, 2008 6:19 pm

Bad Nav, I will concede that it is a mistake to clasify people under MPL, PPL and CPL. And the problem is that it is just one or two that make the whole bunch a bad bunch. But it is dificult not to clasify. We live in a country where it is the norm to clasify people based on colour. All I want to do enjoy flying, and want other people to enjoy it with me.

On Chunky, I was almost like the film "Rocky Balboa", he still has a lot of fight left in him. I was amazed that he let loose and said the things that he did, but it seems like it is his manner. So all we can do is excuse him for what he did. At least there did come a lot of positives out of it for us. I was amazed at how quick the avcom guys can get bitchy with each other. Had a big laugh about it. It is our handbook of "How not to do it!!"

This water we are talking about, is long gone in the atlantic.

Nice day.
vhpy vhpy
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"
3wheels

Postby 3wheels » Wed May 21, 2008 6:22 pm

Hi John,

I doubt if that comment was ever made, more like a case of "broken telephone" , " This should spice the pot" syndrome !!
ZU-"Charlie"YV

Postby John Boucher » Wed May 21, 2008 6:29 pm

Wargames - I'm a PPL'er. Never had an MPL licence however I am quite comfortable amongst the chaps in this forum. Was a member on AVCOM long before I came over to this forum. I'm curious.... how many chaps on this forum are PPL'ers or higher?

3Wheels - I tried to lure anyone into telling me who the person was as I would like to send him an e-mail or if ever I have the opportunity of meeting him - to please ellaborate on his statement! Would be a sad day for aviation if it was really said in the context and not reported speech!
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Wed May 21, 2008 6:45 pm

Bad Nav wrote:Wargames - I'm a PPL'er. Never had an MPL licence however I am quite comfortable amongst the chaps in this forum. Was a member on AVCOM long before I came over to this forum. I'm curious.... how many chaps on this forum are PPL'ers or higher?

3Wheels - I tried to lure anyone into telling me who the person was as I would like to send him an e-mail or if ever I have the opportunity of meeting him - to please ellaborate on his statement! Would be a sad day for aviation if it was really said in the context and not reported speech!
Hi don't want to make you feel welcome here with what I have to say, but if you are flying a cheetah, and your team is the cheetahs, then you are a microlighter!! vhpy vhpy

PPL or not!!
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"

Postby John Boucher » Wed May 21, 2008 6:58 pm

The only way you guys get me out of here is by deleting my Stirs.... No, I'm here to stay. I'll defend the rights of any aviator or group that gets looked down upon by any other group because of a holier than thou attitude. I always have safety in mind as I don't like my fellow aviators passing on - you know they fly for free and are not bothered by CAA, Part 24, AP's or AMO's etc :?

Used to shout for the Stormers, lost a bet and am forced to shout for the Blue Bulls... now that they are out I'll do the Sharks thing!

Cobra (having been an ATC) really put the lid on things. Sadly, if it had been a newbie in any form, they would have continually blasted the poor oke / group!
Leprachaun

Postby Leprachaun » Wed May 21, 2008 7:12 pm

Hi Guys , its great to see some unity "eendrag maak mag " re the vine issue - I only wish we had the same response when we were busy sorting out the Rotax issue with CAA and all .
As I said earlier , by the grape vine- Im sure the vine who gave me the colourful inputs (microlight mad their name gat again )will follow the issue and maybe he will like to add his comments - By the way I will see him tomorrow at the Rotax course.
As I said earlier it was mentioned to me via the grape vine - in the passages of the CAA -
I rest my case Leprachaun. **
Ps I will post his comments - keep you all posted (**)
A pilot lives by perfection , or not at all!
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Wed May 21, 2008 7:57 pm

Leprachaun wrote:Hi Guys , its great to see some unity "eendrag maak mag " re the vine issue - I only wish we had the same response when we were busy sorting out the Rotax issue with CAA and all .
As I said earlier , by the grape vine- Im sure the vine who gave me the colourful inputs (microlight mad their name gat again )will follow the issue and maybe he will like to add his comments - By the way I will see him tomorrow at the Rotax course.
As I said earlier it was mentioned to me via the grape vine - in the passages of the CAA -
I rest my case Leprachaun. **
Ps I will post his comments - keep you all posted (**)
Hi Leprachaun,

You must come to cape town. We will give you a "wyntjie"(We have some nice ones, but then again, they are probably in your stores as well), you give that to your informant :lol: :lol: and then you must see the vine grow! :shock: :shock:

The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"

Postby DarkHelmet » Wed May 21, 2008 9:19 pm

Postby John Boucher » Thu May 22, 2008 8:39 am

Hiya Lep...

Hopefully you convey our sentiments to those who uttered some drivel in the CAA passages! Maybe "Chucky" should have filed an incident at CAA and made his name gat with all the feedback that has emerged!

Use a loudhaler in the passages of CAA so that no one can say we did not try and resolve the issues and to set the record straight.....
Leprachaun

Postby Leprachaun » Thu May 22, 2008 9:46 pm

Hiya guys , what an interesting day at the Heavy maintanance course.
Lots of Aps , from various schools even as far afield as Cape Town and Durbs areas , and last but least even from CAA .
Ya they were there , and when I asked if the thread was being followed I got avery cold shoulder - no comment- and thats all, but it was an eventful day after all .Lots of discussions around special tools, calibrated bobejan spanners an all , and who owns they certificte etc
Today and tomorrows course will allow some of us to redo the old Rotax engine to its previous glory, and some of the AMOs who werent there may not do so in future - interrestings times we live in -
-So in future when you have work done on the Rotax ask for the proof of the heavy maintenace course - and if its not there , you know what to do .
They alternative maintenance shedule will be discussed in detail tomorrow - I watch with interest indeed as it was approved in April for release early May , but no AIC as yet - Why not ??????
Leprachaun Ps seeya all later as I must prepare for tomorrows test
A pilot lives by perfection , or not at all!