Complaint on AVCOM re Microlight Radio Use

skybound®

Postby skybound® » Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:50 pm

It is partly owing to the early days of micros where the boys did not fly with radios etc and there were incidents a plenty. This stigma will follow for time to come.

In our area years ago (probably about 8 or 9) we decided to accept this stigma and to actively do something about it, and not just complain when the tin cans complained about us unecessarily.

We tidied up our yard, and actively chastised those micro boys that did not comply with radio procedures and airspaces. Majority of the MPL students were sent to do their radio course at a PPL school which I think did help some too.

We also got active in attending meetings between all the airspace users in our neck of the woods with ATC/ATNS.

It all paid off, when eventually a CFI from a tin can school (who used to persecute us badly) stood up at one of the ATC meetings and complimented the Micros saying that they were the best on the radio in the area.

Just think when last did you kak out a buddy when his radio work wasn't what it should be, or did not use his radio at all or where his radio fails in more than 70% of their flights?

What I am saying is help to clean up the yard, and slowly-slowly we will eat that stigma away. If you dont actively help - dont complain that the stigma stays.
Biggles

Postby Biggles » Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:57 am

I sat last night having a beer with a comm blik pilot who flies mostly in the Gauteng area. His comment was that MPLs radio work is generally bad. He recons the big problem is that MPLs spend most of thier time on 123.45 "complaining about thier wives".

I have had a few occasions where another aircraft (blik, heli and MPL) has appeared in my field of vision unannounced. I think all recreational aviation is at fault and not restricted to MPL although problem is slightly exagerated by the short range of our radios. With a 25nm range on a radio a closing blik and microlight will be on each other in less than 10 minutes.

P.S. My radio is fine... I was over Malmesbury and got a radio check from a Rooivalk over Worster;)
Trike pilot

Aerotrike Cobra
ZU-DLP

Winelands FAWN
Miskiet

Postby Miskiet » Tue Feb 27, 2007 8:01 am

I fly in Special rules east 99% of the time and I must say that micro's radio's are terrible (ok - it is a generalization but I think it's true! :D ). The interference sometimes is so bad when some guys transmit that I wish I could turn the damn thing off - spoils a nice flight very often.

Because we use handheld's we do not require a certificate for our radio's - maybe that should change.
Biggles

Postby Biggles » Tue Feb 27, 2007 8:04 am

Because we use handheld's we do not require a certificate for our radio's - maybe that should change.
Actually any transmitting radio requires a license, with a few exceptions and a hand-held airband radio is not one of them. But I fail to see how this will help matters...
Trike pilot

Aerotrike Cobra
ZU-DLP

Winelands FAWN
Biggles

Postby Biggles » Tue Feb 27, 2007 8:16 am

Woops, think I am mixed up. Please explain what certificate a fixed radio needs?
Trike pilot

Aerotrike Cobra
ZU-DLP

Winelands FAWN

Postby Aerosan » Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:30 am

A lot of GF aircraft`s radio`s are not so good. These are not just ML`s :!: :!: :evil: I have flown, not too long ago in the JHB GF and a gent with a Baron (looked like -but doesnt matter a blik none the less) came screaming right over me without ANY comms at all. Even after trying to call him no reply. Should I now call all bliks ( I was in a blik too btw) monkeys or some other species :?: :?: :?: No I think that it is the "I am the I am " syndrome.

my 20000000000000Z$ worth.

Isnt it an aircraft if it fly`s? or does the weight make it an aircraft? should that be the case I have a brand new 2Ton Nissan Almera aeroplane (**)
DieselFan

Postby DieselFan » Tue Feb 27, 2007 11:17 am

Aerosan wrote:A lot of GF aircraft`s radio`s are not so good. These are not just ML`s :!: :!: :evil: I have flown, not too long ago in the JHB GF and a gent with a Baron (looked like -but doesnt matter a blik none the less) came screaming right over me without ANY comms at all. Even after trying to call him no reply. Should I now call all bliks ( I was in a blik too btw) monkeys or some other species :?: :?: :?: No I think that it is the "I am the I am " syndrome.

my 20000000000000Z$ worth.

Isnt it an aircraft if it fly`s? or does the weight make it an aircraft? should that be the case I have a brand new 2Ton Nissan Almera aeroplane (**)
Going on the weight ruling, if Microlighters are monkeys does that mean Bliks pilots are Gorillas? :P

Postby Aerosan » Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:38 pm

Diesel :lol: =D* =D* =D* =D* =D* =D* =D* ^*^^ ^*^^ ^*^^

Postby Boet » Tue Feb 27, 2007 8:27 pm

Mmmm. Jaa, and on the other hand, I`d prefer them to be chattering away happily. Then at least I KNOW WHERE THEY ARE. And THAT is important. Sometimes very amusing to quietly sit and listening to them when I am on a long, boring cross country. Love them, or loathe them, the Microlighters are here to stay. Tolerate, educate and accomodate. After all, we STILL are all just Aviators. :D :wink:

Postby The Agent » Tue Feb 27, 2007 8:51 pm

BUT die hele ding is being pulled out of context.

Bliksem but they are asorry bunch of moan gatte.

I know why it's because it costs them more to have half the fun we do. :wink:
Bennie Vorster

Postby Bennie Vorster » Tue Feb 27, 2007 9:03 pm

Come on guys from all sides. There is a lot of reasons transmission doesn't always happen as it should, but I dought if ever it is been done on perpus whether It is a learner pilot, fluty equipment or an oukie sitting in uncontrolled airspace going to visit his grandma in the city some day and stuff it all up, it cant be done on perpus. Even if you had the best training in the world, if you don't use it, you will loose it.

Have you ever seen a motor vehicle crash in India and have you ever seen the levels of road rage there as we have air rage here in SA.

It is all about attitudes, airmanship and responsible flying. You fly, shit happens, you live to tell the tail and you learn out of it so you can never let it happen again. All we can do more is to not fall asleep behind the wheel. :wink:

I must say I'm also guilty of loving the more informal chatting. It give me the feeling that I can at any time chirp in to disclose my comming and going. :roll:
Growing old is far more dangerous than flying !!!
Bennie Vorster
083 277 5110
RV Sometime

Postby RV Sometime » Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:59 pm

Good call Demon on the "keep it civil" suggestion. The guys did so & the result was that Savas was forced to wind his neck in. He may have a valid point, but it is equal between the bliks & the micro's imho. I entered the debate & watched it carefully. I'm glad it settled down without further unnecessary bull. It became civil & hopefully no deeper rifts are formed.

I love the Gorilla status btw :D :D :D :D :D
Havoc
Looking at the sky

RADIO CALLS

Postby Havoc » Tue Mar 06, 2007 6:45 am

Must say it is really sad to read this, after all we all fly because we love this sport, my experience has been much more pleasant, i have encountered the odd pilot not responding,but mostly all pilots are good with radio work in the Grand Central aera,we are mostly respected by the blik aeries,and work very well together,@ aero 57 we must be in the busiest air space in SA,and i have to say that we have encountered more cooperation and respect by fellow blik pilots than than the contrary, we should try and help pilot's that have a problem, and not always be sky gods, common guy's let's lighten up a bit,REMEMBER THE FIRST TIME U PRESSED THAT PTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! REGARDS FLO.........
Slider

Postby Slider » Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:59 am

Hi

I did my course at microland in 1997 and I dont think its was very good, :shock: BUT you keep on growing / practice and before you wake-up you are very good with the radio calls. :lol: :lol: The main thing is to keep on talking (give your possition), and remember that fruitfly with his blik aircraft is twice as fast as you, so he might have been right a few minutes ago, 10 MILES BACK. :? :?

If you THINK what you want to say and make it short, you will be fine, even speaking to ATC
ZU-ALW
Hanger 5-7
Microland
t-bird

re

Postby t-bird » Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:08 am

Hi Havoc

I am based at Summit and communicate with Grand central from there.

Where are the Borders of Grand Central’s airspace ?

I usually call outbound south abeam the Kyalami Castle and to the West over Mnandi.

Can’t find anything on Easy plan or Jeppeson maps.

Some of the Blik aerie pilots are of an opinion that the R 55 is the Western Border.

The chopper pilots call inbound from the south abeam Woodmead.