THE MICROLAND THREAD..."Home of the Tailwinds"

Re: THE MICROLAND THREAD..."routing for the tower"

Postby Bundy » Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:01 am

What an epic weekend. (^^)

We could not have had better weather even if we could have planned the conditions ourselves.

Oom Paul, baie dankie....Elands Camp is an awesome spot for a breakaway. Enjoyed every minute of it. (!!)
Saturday's morning run up the Olifants River and over the Northern ridges around Loskop was one of the best flights I've ever had. Absolutely stunning areas to explore.

Lekker to have the Potties Manne there as well on Sat for brekkie.

Priveledge to fly with some awesome flying buddies.

WE WILL BE BACK!

Good mates, great weather, amazing flying....what more can you ask for? (^^)

Postby Bundy » Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:59 am

Elands Camp "Trip Report" 8)

We were greeted on Friday by near perfect flying conditions. The anticipation of a long overdue cross country was high and before long we were all lined up at the holding point and quickly got together for a last briefing. Present were myself, Paul and Dionne Mulder, Louis Cole and Sir Francis and Lady Sharon Smallwood. The original plan of flying via Loskop to Elands was quickly turfed out due to some heavy looking cloud in the vacinity. :( We decided to route towards Cullinan and then see if there was a way around to the west....

As we got to Cullinan, we could see some rain and grey gunk in our path :( , so… for safety's sake we landed at JAG to wait it out. We will be sending the owner a bill for cutting the grass on the runway for him! :wink: It was'nt long and the weather was drifting east so we took off and could immediately see that a direct route from there was possible. (^^) Amazing flying for the rest of the flight there and the 4 Samoosa pilots eventually made contact with a familiar voice on 124.8. 8) Oom Paul flies an invisible Aquilla :lol: ...despite many attempts to “Meet up” in the air...we had to make peace with the fact that a formation arrival would not be possible. :wink:

From 6 miles out we could see 04 lined up in front of us like a welcome mat. 8) We joined one by one and touched down. Safe and sound, Blue Max arrived a few minutes later. It takes only a few seconds to realise that the Springbokvlakte is automatically 10 degrees warmer than any other place. Hot and humid but so lekker to arrive in the bush. (^^)
We were greeted by Oom Paul and his wife and the ever present “Jimmy” who is Paul’s Right hand man op die plaas. Elands Camp is rustic (just the way I like it), and Paul is quick to remind you of that. “Guys this is a Bush Camp…not a Game lodge." :lol:
The hospitality you receive though….is better than any lodge! 8)
A good old fashioned Cholesterol Brekkie was enjoyed by all and we settled in. Oom Paul likes to make sure his friends are catered for well and this normally takes the form of a brief “Special Meeting”. :lol: A trip to town was in order, we bundled fuel cans, wallets and ourselves into the double cab and headed off to Marble hall.

We arrived back with all the supplies necessary for a weekend in the bush. Fuel, Water, Braaipacks and some personality juice. (^^)
With the ever present threat of a thunderstorm or two in the late PM, it was unanimously decided that waiting 6 hours to see if the weather would allow an afternoon flight was not as important as enjoying an ice cold beer in the shade right now. Needless to say we tied down the aircraft and moved into phase 2. Bierdrink en Kakpraat.... we seem very good at this... especially me. :lol: The pool was there as if sent from heaven…we made good use of it…albeit in ons onderbroekke! :) I was viciously assaulted by one member of our gaggle which resulted in a small hole being turned into a gaping rip….the evidence is visible above…I plan to lay charges this week. ^
Oom Paul decided we must go for a game drive to his Tjommie’s farm “net hier langsaan”. If Oom Paul ever offers you this, please make sure it’s a Tjommie he has seen in the last 10 years!! What followed was a two hour trip to F@kol en nerens…but at least we had a full coolerbox on the back though so it was all smiles and laughter. :lol:
We had a great evening around the fire and retired for a nice early night so we could be ready for action in the morning.

Saturday’s flight started with a “special meeting” of course. We decided to route Groblersdal and then fly up the Olifants river towards Loskop. What an amazing flight... (!!) …perfect weather and absolutely stunning scenery going over Loskop. You guys are very lucky to have this right on your doorstep. Halfway back to Elands we could here the Potties’ manne arriving at Elands. (we were still 16 miles out or so)…we pulled a bit of bar and made it back to elands to make brekkie for the visiting Marauders from the north. I must say, Potties seems to have a very good flying gees going…great to see! vhpy They wolfed down their eggs and wors and were quickly on there way again towards Arabie dam.

The rest of the day was spent much the same way as the day before…the pool and cold beverages are almost inevitable in the sweltering heat. We made sure the trikes were ready for the return the next morning and chilled out to enjoy our last evening at Elands. In true bush style I dragged by bed out of the cabin and spent two awesome nights kipping under the stars in the cool evening breeze…it just does not get better than that for me. vhpy

Sunday Morning, weather again…absolutely perfect. Packed up, loaded the cans, strapped everything in and we had our last “special meeting”. :( We bid goodbye to Oom Paul and taxied to 22 for takeoff. All airbourne, I was last off the deck and immediately set course and headed off home. I quickly realised that we had a lekker tailwind.. GS reading at 68knts at most times. We shed half an hour off our time there, made it back in hour and 10 minutes. Safe and sound back at ML…the only turbulence we had on the entire trip was joining the circuit at ML (That’s why they call it “bumpsfontein!). Louis greeted us and took off again for his last 40min stint back to Jakkaldans.

I made some great new friends on this trip, we were very lucky with the weather and we must organise more.
A safe, fun, incident free weekend, spent in what can only be described as a Trikers Paradise. Thanks Oom Paul. (^^)
F Smallwood
Looking at the sky

Postby F Smallwood » Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:16 pm

To all those who missed the weekend away to Elands camp you really did miss out. Great flying and good company. I really enjoyed it. Loskop dam area is really pretty for flying around and good companions when it came to sitting around the pool with a beer, wine or savanna in hand. Many thanks to others on the trip. Blue Max your are a great host who can't do enough to help you. It was really good to get to know some of the microlighters better. Alan, Dionne, Paul, Louis and Oom Paul you were all great. I think what goes on tour stays on tour and explanations for torn underwear is really not required.
We need to start planning the next trip soon and I hope a few more can make it time. Dionne it would be great to get copies of the photos you took. Maybe at the Jan microlanders get together. I can't be there next weekend unfortunately.
All the best to you everyone and have safe flying Christmas.
Cheers Frank

Postby nicow » Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:51 pm

You can look at some pics on the "Potties Vliegklub" facebook page...
nico@limpopoflightschool.co.za

Postby Bundy » Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:08 pm

Dont forget our last braai for the year guys....This Sat!

Bring the usual (^^)

Dop and a chop and something Christmas (hat or something) (^^)

Paul and Dionne Mulder
Alan, Max, Troy
Jaco
Stef

Who else is in? (^^)
Last edited by Bundy on Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Bundy » Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:34 am

Chaps in addition to the usual, I'd like to give Kenneth and Johannes a little something for Xmas. I must say they really help a lot with all our events there...and they come running to open the hanger doors for us when we return from flying which is a real bonus. (^^)

Bring a few cans of peaches, beans, some mielie meal or maltabela etc etc and we can make up a X mas box for them! (value about R80) If weather allows, I think a flip from a willing pilot will also be a nice gesture (^^)

Thanks guys. 8)

Postby mulderpm » Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:53 am

No problem Al. We will be there and bring something for the staff. (^^)

Again thanks to Alan, Sir Francis of Benoni and his Duchess Sharon, Louis Cole, Paul and don't forget Feizel Salie for the first 20 miles. (^^) Trusted Jimmy, who taught his boss so well and helped with Louis' trikes welding exhaust repair. vhpy And the Potties gang for their visit on Sat morning. It was an awesome weekend. Cabbage patch se moer! puff

I will make 3 CD's of the pictures and leave them in my hangar.

As you all know, my left spat bracket broke again on landing at ML. ## Just when I boasted about nothing wrong. ## Hans is only going to be able to fix it in the new year. Will remove the spat until then. It never never stops..... streel die babatjie. :oops: (**)

Until Saturday (^^)

Postby mulderpm » Tue Dec 11, 2012 10:09 am

All, I want to change my pannier bags to something, bigger and more visible and I know someone who can do that very cheap :oops: ..I am talking about my aeries pannier bags. :shock: . I have attached two designs. Not very original but I am not into flames, peace signs and skulls and crossbones. :lol:

Paul Mulder.
image.jpg
image.jpg (38.9 KiB) Viewed 1597 times
image.jpg
image.jpg (38.88 KiB) Viewed 1597 times

Postby Bundy » Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:01 pm

If you want my worthless opinion, the first one is the best. (^^)
mulderpm wrote:I am not into flames, peace signs and skulls and crossbones. :lol:
Paul Mulder.
Eish.... you def not gonna like the trike I plan to build! ^ :lol:
Louis Cole

Postby Louis Cole » Tue Dec 11, 2012 3:03 pm

Come on Alan, prepare us for it. What are we in for?
Loneranger
ZU-CEX Raptor 618
25 52.869' S 027 54.940' E
(http://www.opencockpit.co.za)
"Reach for your dreams"

Postby Bundy » Tue Dec 11, 2012 3:13 pm

Went out and bought a product called Nikwax Tent and Gear Solar proof spray for application to the upper surface and leading edges of our wing. Apparently it works very well,,,perhaps you should also consider trying to extend the lifespan of your dacron?

The biggest motivation is the amount of time DBP will spend in the sun next year....no bloody shade where we are going :roll: Louis, James...it's not so expensive, James especially as you also have a new wingsail!

Sean from Solowings said he can see no reason why we cant use it....the GT guys have been doing so for a while it seems.

R99 per 500ml bottle...prob need 2-3 to cover the whole wing. I plan on doing ours on Sat so will let you know. 8)
Nikwax.JPG

Postby Bundy » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:14 pm

Louis Cole wrote:Come on Alan, prepare us for it. What are we in for?
My all time Favorite Band will be the theme...

...This is the only clue I'm willing to give... :) ^
ljhfg.jpg

Postby mulderpm » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:26 pm

Alan, there are many spray on UV protection products on the market with various levels of proven success. The problem is they all attract dust and discolor the Dacron. When a easy fitting pull over cover design, of thin material (like a silver car cover) is available I am there puff You can not buy that material by the meter. ## ## Even a pull over calico cover is better than nothing. Just look at my aeries wing tips...they still look like new. puff

Postby mulderpm » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:31 pm

Bundy wrote:
Louis Cole wrote:Come on Alan, prepare us for it. What are we in for?
My all time Favorite Band will be the theme...

...This is the only clue I'm willing to give... :) ^
ljhfg.jpg
Jow, dis n' poep en n' half daai :oops: :lol: :lol:

Deep Purple? Looks familiar puff or Moody Blues??

Postby Bundy » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:57 pm

mulderpm wrote: Deep Purple? Looks familiar puff or Moody Blues??
Good bands...but you are cold.... ^

...do not venture out at night if you have a fear of the dark....