Kalahari Saltpan Exp. Cobra's CMS and CPT

Triker

Kalahari Saltpan Exp. Cobra's CMS and CPT

Postby Triker » Fri Jun 03, 2011 1:51 pm

Good day guys. I'd like to share our Kalahari saltpan expedition with you guys.
It was absolutely fabulous and a great honor to explore that part of the world with a Microlight. This is an absolute must for all microlighters!

The trip started on 27 May 2011 where I trailered my Cobra from Aeroden to Van Zylsrus. CHARLIE WHISKEY flew his Cobra ZU-CMS from Kitty Hawk to Van Zylsrus in about 6 hours with one stop inbetween. I had to make more than one pit stop :lol: (They say panic starts with a "Pee") .

Once CPT arrived with trailer and all, we quickly had to rig the wing and attach to the undercarriage. What a job and a half. But nevertheless, it was a race against time, daylight and the urge of cold beer at the local pub in the Hotel (^^)

After our tired body's awoke at 5:00am, we got dressed and made a turn by the aeries which were tied up like horses in front of the hotel. What a way to attract crowds I tell you! After a thorough inspection of the wing and the usual pre-flight checks, daylight broke at about 06:50am due to Van ZylsRus being in a quite far upper Westerly location of South Africa. We untied our horses and led them past the onlooking crowds towards the airfield. That morning was one of the most beautiful mornings for flying despite the weatherforecast. Nie `n enkele blaartjie het beweeg nie! Skies were sunny and everyone was relaxed and calm.

After take-off we made a sharp right hand turn towards Askam. Daylight broke in a bang as the flat dark surroundings gave way to rays of the sun. Although we had a slight head wind of about 10Mph North West, things were going smooth as planned. The flight took a steady turn due West from Askam, towards the Saltpans. 2 Major saltpans lay adjacent and divided by a rocky escarpment (barely a mountain range). We arrived in the middle of the pan called Koppieskraal pan which is as flat as a pancake and stretches about 10 000 hectares in size. After ZU CMS made a low level flight for about 3 minutes, I followed and joined him at the camp site where good friends and family awaited us after we completed the 108mile stretch in about 2 hours.After tying down the Cobra's (vat maar gerus jou Grippa ens. saam) we examined the pan a bit closer and started settling in with a "koppie koffie en beskuit" That afternoon we made a nice bon fire with the best wood one can get (accompanied with the other type of wood: "hardehout" (^^) ) Nice braais and flying weather the following morning etc etc..

I will try my best to add as much photos and possibly videos on Youtube when time allows.

This is a def must for each person the experience. This does not get any better!! (-) Fly save
Groetnis: Triker and Charlie Whiskey
Triker

Re: Kalahari Saltpan Exp. Cobra's CMS and CPT

Postby Triker » Fri Jun 03, 2011 2:02 pm

ZU CMS and ZU CPT arriving on Koppieskraal pan
CMS and CPT on the Koppieskraal pan.jpg
CMS and CPT on the Koppieskraal pan.jpg (75.11 KiB) Viewed 1901 times
LenM

Postby LenM » Fri Jun 03, 2011 7:51 pm

My apologies for being the ignorant one, but would it be possible to seend GPS coords?!
SORRY!
Assume EVERYONE knows where it is, but I'd like to do a recce with Google Earth first... ;-)
Len M

The knack [to flying] lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.
Alpha

Postby Alpha » Sat Jun 04, 2011 4:59 am

Hey Triker,

I am sure you guys had a blast! I used to stay near there in a town called Kathu and used to fly to salt pans in the area! We flew into Van Zyls and then taxied all the way into town and had breakfast at the hotel! Awesome experience!

Like to see a few more pics if you have some! Maybe we could fly together some time? Where are you based!

Fly safe!

Postby nicow » Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:12 am

Nooi ons volgende keer saam-dit klink na 'n lekker trip.
vliegskool@hotmail.com

Postby Big-D » Mon Jun 06, 2011 9:10 am

Sounds great (^^)
Triker

Postby Triker » Mon Jun 06, 2011 12:56 pm

Here's a couple of photos taken by CHARLIE WHISKEY
DSC_0133.jpg
ZU-CMS playing in the sandpit
DSC_0240.jpg
CMS flying above the cloudbase with sun breaking through
DSC_0085.jpg
Basecamp with the Kalahari Ferrari's tied down in the background
DSC_0020.jpg
On route to Van Zyls, Harties on a very cold morning
Triker

Postby Triker » Mon Jun 06, 2011 1:15 pm

HAllo Alpha.

Yes whe had a blast of a time there. It was very nice to explore the saltpans with microlight. Even more strange was taxing into town with the microlights and tying down in front of the hotel. The people were so friendly at Van Zylsrus and we had a nice "kuier" there. Flying lowlevel on the pan is incredible! I will try and post this on Youtube and link you guys in.

Nicow, jy moet saamkom volgende keer! Jy ook Big-D

More photos will follow

Postby nicow » Mon Jun 06, 2011 1:23 pm

Baie mooi (^^) (^^)
vliegskool@hotmail.com
Triker

Postby Triker » Mon Jun 06, 2011 2:05 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ep245tkpFv0

A link to a short video clip of the pan and the microlights
CHARLIE WHISKEY

Postby CHARLIE WHISKEY » Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:14 pm

Thanks Triker for the posting.

Ja.. man dit was n lekker trip (^^) .(For the engilse ouens - wat n moer nice trip)

The Kalahari seems to amaize me every year,foresure a yearly event for me.

Trip started (was suppose to start on the 25th of May but due to a cold front lots of fellow trikers cancelled). So the window was open on the 27 th Of May.
I departed from Kitty Hawk and the route is as follows:
LEG 1 -Delareyville 324 KM
LEG 2 -VanZylsrus 341KM (S26.53.09.29 E022.02.47.39)
LEG3 -Koppieskraal 172KM (S26.56.00.00 E020.19.00.00)
Spended 2 days of flying and more flying on the pan.
LEG 4- Kuruman 312 KM
LEG 5 -Lichtenburg 310 KM
LEG 6 - Kitty Hawk 239 KM

Total distance flown - 1947KM in 14.53 Hours,Av ground speed was 134Km/h.

Highlights: bon fires at night, Flying with triker on the pans ,enigine outs, the stars, "Lekker" braai ,Flying,flying,flying........................... (^^)

Thanks for:
Joseph Hugo at Delareyville for the Wimpy Coffy and the fuel, Frits at Kuruman for the Hangarage, VanZylsRus owners for the Hospitality etc and of course the Ground Crew.

I wish me and Triker can post you all the pic's of our trip just to taste the Kalahari.

DSC_0047A.jpg
On route to VanZylrus just outside Delareyville.
DSC_0053A.jpg
Runway at VanZylsRus
DSC_0139A.jpg
Kalahari Red dunes.
Fueled by Faith.
ZS-VMP
ZU-BBR
ZU-CMS
ZS-WFT
ZU-FGR
ZU-CTS
CHARLIE WHISKEY

Postby CHARLIE WHISKEY » Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:24 pm

More Pic's
DSC_0062A.jpg
Me and Triker Flying at Ashkam
DSC_0145A.jpg
Red Dunes
DSC_0235A.jpg
Gamtoosberge neer Kuruman
Fueled by Faith.
ZS-VMP
ZU-BBR
ZU-CMS
ZS-WFT
ZU-FGR
ZU-CTS
Oupa-G

Postby Oupa-G » Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:43 pm

Lovely I have flown that area with my trike and it has something very special thank you for sharing the foties. If you check on Members projects and building the Bushbaby Safari I have some foties of our last Kaokoland trip

Cheers Oupa-G
Triker

Postby Triker » Thu Jun 09, 2011 3:10 pm

For more information, you may kindly contact me or Charlie Whiskey.
As Charlie Whiskey said, although we can post lots of photo's one needs to fly the trip to experience first hand.

More photos
IMG_3333.jpg
At Van Zylsrus gravel road with Monster and Cobra on the trailer
IMG_3342.jpg
Me and Bennie rigging the wing before the sun sets
IMG_3358.jpg
After 1 tough day, so bietjie keel natmaak in the V Zyls Bar
IMG_3501.jpg
Vast open fields