The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"
skybound®

Re: Hey Karamba, explain your statement

Postby skybound® » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:43 pm

Guys I think you are getting a little sensitive here. Simply he does not like the product.

We all have differing tastes - and there may not be a 'legitimate' reason why he does not like it - same way as why I may like the music of Eddy Grant and you dont, but lets not be intolerant of individuals owing to their tastes and threatening to burn them at the stake just coz we dont agree with their taste. Just like Boet may like his Premium Hennessey Brandy and he may really dislike my choice of Laphroig Single Malt Whiskey - but at the end of the day we can both sit down and enjoy our choice of drinks around a campfire discussing our passion of flying.
Karamba

Postby Karamba » Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:12 am

skybound® wrote:Guys I think you are getting a little sensitive here. Simply he does not like the product.

We all have differing tastes - and there may not be a 'legitimate' reason why he does not like it - same way as why I may like the music of Eddy Grant and you dont, but lets not be intolerant of individuals owing to their tastes and threatening to burn them at the stake just coz we dont agree with their taste. Just like Boet may like his Premium Hennessey Brandy and he may really dislike my choice of Laphroig Single Malt Whiskey - but at the end of the day we can both sit down and enjoy our choice of drinks around a campfire discussing our passion of flying.
(^^) (^^)

Postby Tailspin » Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:47 am

Hi Skybound

There is a difference between not liking something ($$) ($$) and what Karamba is doing. ## ##
Nowhere do i see any smileys etc in his posting.

Just my 2c.

Postby AndyG » Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:17 am

Oh he replies when there is a response backing him up. Karamba if your posting was in jest then let the guys know, as a joke is a joke. If it wasn't then maybe you could have moderated your opinion to a less aggressive one.

Cheers,

Postby Dish » Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:54 am

Hmmmm - Just double checked my browser address - it does say Microlighters - not avcom.... wasnt sure for a minute..

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Morph » Wed Jan 13, 2010 11:01 am

The issue is that out of 49 posts, Karamba has managed to use most of them to say how kak he thinks something is. We don't down other products here, they are all well made and safe. We are not other forums, here we focus on the good and not the bad

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:07 pm

skybound® wrote:I may like the music of Eddy Grant and Laphroig Single Malt Whiskey
:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Eish.... puff
bluesmancoops

Postby bluesmancoops » Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:53 pm

Morph wrote:The issue is that out of 49 posts, Karamba has managed to use most of them to say how kak he thinks something is. We don't down other products here, they are all well made and safe. We are not other forums, here we focus on the good and not the bad

well put Greg ...... I agree
Mike Cooper
Flying is not a hobby it is an addiction
andreb

Postby andreb » Thu Jan 14, 2010 4:33 am

So let the man (or woman) have their say. How can we start abusing someone just because they don't like something that we like. They are entitled to their opinion and entitled to speak it on this forum. If we don't like it we can say so and not attack the person. If they don't want to sunstantiate their comments, then that is also their prerogative.
I suggest that if they have bad mouthed the BB, then there are many forumites out there that can counter the argument with facts and personal experience. I don't think it is ethical to threaten to remove the thread just cause you don't agree with the person and the moderator happens to own a BB. Why does every thread have to make a positive contribution? Why can't we just discuss things and give our comments honestly and openly without fear of censure or hostility. And who decides on whether something is making a positive contributions anyway! If we don't like what is being said then we can counter the argument or just ignore it, but let people have their say. I don't agree that we have to concentrate on the good only. The bad is also good to discuss as there is value in the lessons we can get from the bad....even if the lesson itself is not to be bad.
It is concerning that we have forumites that have actually gone and looked at Karamba's posts to see what kind of comments they made previously. This is to get ammo to make a personal attack on the person. Rather counter their comments with your own about how good the BB is.
The "other" forum is unpleasant to many people because of personal attacks and petty bithching. Let's not go that route please. Let people talk and don't attack them for their opinions. Tolerance of people's opinions and likes and dislikes will go a long way. We don't always have to agree on things to be great friends and fellow aviators.

Just my opinion guys.....and I happen to like the BB.
Some days it's not even worth chewing through the restraints

Non scholae sed vitae discimus
Slider

Postby Slider » Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:26 am

Dish wrote:Hmmmm - Just double checked my browser address - it does say Microlighters - not avcom.... wasnt sure for a minute..
Ja nee ek moes ook nou eers seker maak dat dit nie AVCOM was nie. Moet my nie verkeerd verstaan nie. Ek like dit daar en ouens soos DL en Snoopy, wat altyd almal op hulle agter voete hou. Ek smaak elke ding wat in die lug is, Selfs my skoonma se ryding, want jy kan dit gebruik om die huis skoon te vee. Dit is nie te se dat ek die ouvrou like nie, maar ek se niks nie, anders slaap ek in die honde box.........

BB is n great vliegtuig en ek wens ek kon een bou
ZU-ALW
Hanger 5-7
Microland
KFA

Postby KFA » Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:17 am

I do agree that everybody is entitled to their opinion. What bothers me is that Karamba makes a statement without explaining why he said what he did and then thereafter just keeps quite until someone backs his behaviour. If you have something bad to say about anything then it would be to the advantage of all to explain your statement.

I have now said my peace and will not be drawn further into this. Karamba, come visit us, I know I will change your mind. :wink:

Postby Morph » Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:27 am

andreb wrote:It is concerning that we have forumites that have actually gone and looked at Karamba's posts to see what kind of comments they made previously.
This facility is available to everyone, search for posts by author. It is an essential tool to enable an administrator to make decisions on what action to take. We have in the past, only ever banned 2 individuals from the forum, because the consistent aggressive and unacceptable (as defined by the forum usage rules) behavior. This is not something we take lightly at all. However it can also be used to find something a person may have posted etc. It is important that you all understand the moderators and administrators do not abuse this system. We do not take great pleasure in personally attacking people as you so put it.

I am the one that said if I did not get a response back from the poster that I would remove the original post as it adds no value to the site. And no defence or explanation was forthcoming, further cementing the belief that this user is purely here to attack products and not add value. In the meantime the rest of the members picked up the mantel and defended the product and in the whole the post turned positive, at the expense of the user it appears.

I reiterate, this forum does not tolerate bad mouthing of individuals or products. I as admin will do everything in my power to ensure that this does not happen. This is not a Bush Baby issue, it could have been Aquila, MGL, Garmin etc. It is the the history of someone, popping onto the forum, not saying anything until there is the opportunity to bad mouth something, use expletive comments and then disappear again only to repeat the exact same comments at other instances in time. That is not acceptable. The purpose of this forum is to promote happy, safe, informative aviation, not break down people's abilities, products, income etc.

This forum is not like the other one because the admins and moderators are actually doing their jobs.

If at any time, the members of this forum believe that my actions are at the detriment of the forum I will happily resign from being admin.

Now I challenge Karamba, instead of talking kak, add some value, you are a welcome member of the forum, it is here to help all, add your bit, be more positive and life will surely be happier.
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:53 am

Morph wrote:Now I challenge Karamba, instead of talking kak, add some value, you are a welcome member of the forum, it is here to help all, add your bit, be more positive and life will surely be happier.
...and explain his comments made. As part of open discussion, you as a user is entitled to your opinion, as long as you can substantiate that with facts. Otherwise, I fear that you should shut up because you are actually criticizing a product other people make a living from. Looking at it from that point, I still cant believe that there is users backing Karamba's behavior.

I feel that he should own up, or post an apology and edit his original posts. ## ##
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"