Ramp Check= Aviation killer

Goffel
Pre flight checks done

Re: Ramp Check= Aviation killer

Postby Goffel » Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:16 pm

The more I read, the more flaws I get.......please give me a couple of days to sort out wording and laws...Dont all run out and buy Halon extinguishers..(I am in Part 135, so now am having to do some seeeeeerious reading).

All I can say is as far as extinguishers and 1st Aid kits go, use common sense, and carry one...just think of your children flying in that a/c...you would want the best for them.

At least we are are going to sort this out properly what is needed and what is not.

Much thanks for your patience.
Goffel.

Postby Morph » Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:45 pm

Goffel,

welcome to the forum.

This is the right approach, open dialogue, a level of mutual understanding and respect and we are all happy.

As you saw on Saturday, Ranger's trike doesn't have much space for packaging, let alone huge medical boxes etc. Having you being able to firsthand see the various aircraft makes it easier to judge and determine the right solution.

See you at Morning Star soon.
Ranger

Postby Ranger » Fri Oct 16, 2009 3:48 pm

Hi Goffel, welcome to the club. I was washing my trike on Saturday when you walked over for a chat. Thanks for all the input and i do believe, just by reading the latest posts, that this is the way forward. Wargames does our website and if he can have a list of relevant documentation we need onboard that would be a great help too. See you at the airfield again..........in shorts and plakkies. vhpy
I sometimes get confused............But i'm not sure

Postby John Boucher » Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:54 pm

Now we have positive dialogue... (^^) I sincerely think Goffel's intentions are proper and for the better and good of aviation as we know it!

It is time we as our political party leaders so often say - We must all now come to the party to make this work!

I too am joining Morning Star as I want to be able to contribute to aviation and what's more write about our region in Microflight Africa.

Have quite a few of you okes in my sights for profiles, experiences etc. Would also love to boast in there that we have the "cleanest" micro aviation fraternity in the country and be able to set an example for other regions. puff

Postby RV4ker (RIP) » Sat Oct 17, 2009 12:01 am

Goffel wrote: The guys at Morningstar, if you see me walking around in shorts, plakkies and a T-shirt....
Goffel
Yusliaak my Ou, Havent you heard.... Be careful. I hear there is CAA incognito lurking there in the bushes. If he checks you in plakkies and T-Shirt trying to fly anything without written permission from Commish and a ensyclopedia of documents and fire extingisher (to put out the resulting fire when the paper brushes the exaust) and a meorse klop bandages (to dress the resulting burn wounds) you be invited to Tea (met eish)... en they will ground you, your grandma and the rest of CT flying oukes as well while issuing snot klap to the Kop... :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: Lets be careful out there....... ## ## ## ## ##

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Ja Swaer, KAK praat is as much a part of the Fun as flying en die kan ons.... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: puff puff puff puff puff

Welcome once again and thaks for input thusfar.... (^^)

Postby John Boucher » Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:31 am

Would it be appropriate to request Goffel to compile a"RAMP CHECK-LIST" for each individual class of aircraft eg.

Weight Shift (Trike)
Microlight (Conventional - 2/3 Axis 450kg MTOW))
Light Sport Class (600kg MTOW)
Gyros
Light Aircraft (Jab 430's, Blik upwards)

If I have left anything out... please add!
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Sat Oct 17, 2009 12:17 pm

John Boucher wrote:Would it be appropriate to request Goffel to compile a"RAMP CHECK-LIST" for each individual class of aircraft eg.

Weight Shift (Trike)
Microlight (Conventional - 2/3 Axis 450kg MTOW))
Light Sport Class (600kg MTOW)
Gyros
Light Aircraft (Jab 430's, Blik upwards)

If I have left anything out... please add!
Is there a difference??

No. From 747 to my windlass, and all weights in between have the same list. you must go and read exemptions to see what you don't have to carry. All to do whether you can carry it safely.

Am I right??
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"

Postby John Boucher » Sat Oct 17, 2009 1:24 pm

How can the lists be the same then if there are exemptions they are therefore in essence not the same!

The idea is that each owner of each different type of aircraft class knows then that he is on the same page as CAA - so once again my suggestion that Goffel clarifies this with specific lists!
Arnulf

Postby Arnulf » Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:59 pm

Goffel wrote:
Fire exting...CAT's 91.04.21 (2) (1) (2).
An operator or owner may not operate an aircraft unless hand fire extings are provided for use in flight crew......
The type and quantity of extinguishing agent must be suitable for the kinds of fire likely to occurin the compartment where the extiguisher is intended to be used and for personal compartments, must minimise the hazard of toxic gas concentration.
At least ONE hand fire exting, containing Halon 1211, (bromochlorodifluoromethane) or equivalent as the exting agent and must be conveniently located on the flight deck for use by the flight deck crew...
So quantity.....no specifications.
Halon......yes.

Goffel
Could we please have clarity on the fire extinguisher issue with weight shift trikes/gyros.
My trike has no personal compartments, only pannier bags. Where and how is it supposed to be located in the "flight deck" so that I can make use of it. It does not make sense.

Kindly clear up this issue.

Arnulf
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Sat Oct 17, 2009 8:01 pm

John Boucher wrote:How can the lists be the same then if there are exemptions they are therefore in essence not the same!

The idea is that each owner of each different type of aircraft class knows then that he is on the same page as CAA - so once again my suggestion that Goffel clarifies this with specific lists!
Hi John,

The regulations is made up to make exemptions: ie, if you cannot carry a fire extinguisher safely, then you are exempted to carry one. And so the list go for the first aid kit as well.

So, the base is the same, but then he would have to go and look at your aircraft and decide whether you should, or could carry them.

But, lets wait for Goffel. But I guess he didnt join the forum just to extend his working hours to after hours. :wink: :wink:
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"
priester

Postby priester » Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:00 pm

Goffel, jy moenie vir Boetie so skrik nie :lol:
The truth, nothing but the truth

Postby John Boucher » Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:02 pm

Dirk... judging from Arnulf's post, my assumptions and comments regarding exemptions are justified.

The rules or regulations are open to interpretation from various avenues - so let's see how CAA interprets this and applies these exemptions in plain ol' ENGLISH!
Wargames

Postby Wargames » Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:02 am

John Boucher wrote:Dirk... judging from Arnulf's post, my assumptions and comments regarding exemptions are justified.

The rules or regulations are open to interpretation from various avenues - so let's see how CAA interprets this and applies these exemptions in plain ol' ENGLISH!
Don't think for a moment that I don't agree with that. I feel that they can make the list less strenuous for us. ie. I would like if we can only carry our lisence and ATF. The ATF should include the checks for the registration, radio lisence, Mass and balance.

Remember, the lists were probably created 20 years ago, and at that time LSA were not that big. They never changed it for us. Maybe its time. But to what??
The Naked Trike
ZU-AVL
"I hate CIRCLIPS!!"
ChickenHawk
Looking at the sky

Postby ChickenHawk » Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:31 am

Guy’s Guy’s Guy’s

Personally I think the CAA and Co must get there Act together. ## ##

Sorry to burst your (**) bubble (**)

On a recent inspection at Wintervogel, Yes WINTERVOGEL, The CAA by name MR. A. BRADSTREET insist and I REPEAT INSIST ON HALON Fire extinguishers for trikes, ($$) ($$) ($$)

So Thank you GOFFEL, for what you try to do but it is of no use if only you think one thing and you Co-workers think something else. Can you guys get on the same page PLEASE? (^^) (^^)

And YES I think it will be widely welcomed if we can get clarity on this (^^) (^^)

My 2 c worth

Postby John Boucher » Sun Oct 18, 2009 10:07 am

As Arthur and Chris are in close proximity of each other at CAA maybe they should reach some sort of consensus and formalise the lists so that all inspectors can be on the same page - there is nothing more frustrating than when one receives mixed instructions or requirements from the same department! (**)